June 2019 Webinars for Students Age 9-13

Date: Tuesday 11th June 2019
Times: Session 1 10am British Summer Time (9am UTC, 11am Central European Time)
     Session 2 5pm British Summer Time (4pm UTC, 12pm Eastern, 9am Pacific)
 
Location: ANYWHERE! (as long as you have internet access)
Who: Students aged 9 - 13 and their teachers
What: Collaborative mathematics led by members of the NRICH team

Sounds good? Read on.

Following the success of our pilot webinar in December, we are pleased to announce that we will be hosting two more events on the 11th June. Each webinar will introduce the same task at two different times of day (9am and 4pm UTC) to allow students in different time zones to participate. If you don't know about the December webinar you can find more about it and watch the recording here.

As before, we will introduce a problem and invite students to work on it for between 5 and 10 minutes. During this time, teachers can comment online to ask questions on behalf of their class, or share any ideas that have arisen in their classroom. There will also be an opportunity for classes to upload photos of their work.

Once everyone has had a chance to engage with the problem, the NRICH team will showcase the work that has been sent in, and we will suggest next steps for investigation based on students' ideas. For the rest of the webinar, we will alternate between thinking time and discussion time, bringing all ideas together at the end of the session.

After the webinar, the problem we introduce will be published as a live problem on the NRICH primary and secondary sites, so that students can continue to work on it in class and submit solutions for publication. There will also be an opportunity for teachers to fill in an evaluation form to inform planning for future events.

Suggested classroom setup

We suggest teachers set up a computer and a projector to display the live feed to the whole class, who can work on the problem in small groups while the class teacher submits any comments or photos of student work to NRICH. 

Students will need pen and paper, or whiteboards. It may be appropriate for some students to have access to calculators.

As we will be using YouTube's streaming software, please check whether your school's systems allow YouTube to be shown.

The chat will be moderated to ensure no inappropriate comments remain visible, and student work will be shared using first names only in line with NRICH's policy.

On the day
Register now via the button below, and you will be sent a link to the webinar live stream page. On the day, the live stream, the chat facility and the uploading link for student work will all appear on that page.

Approximately five minutes before each webinar (at 9:55am BST for session 1 and 4:55pm BST for session 2) we will begin streaming a welcome slide so that you can check you can view the stream. Then after five minutes the webinar will begin with the NRICH team introducing the task. The webinar will last for approximately 1 hour, alternating between the NRICH team presenting and time for classes to work on the problem and send in their thoughts.

Can't make it that day?
Don't worry, we'll be uploading the video on the site after the event so everyone can watch it and have a go at the task in their own time. We will also be publishing the task as one of our Live Problems so students can submit their solutions.

How to get involved
Please complete a very short registration form in order to access the webinar.

To register for Session 1 (10.00am BST, 9.00am UTC/GMT) - please click on orange button


  

To register for Session 2 (5.00pm BST, 4.00pm UTC/GMT) - please click on orange button 


  


Any questions?
Email the primary or secondary NRICH Team, or tweet us @nrichmaths.