I still forget concepts even after an... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Ask NRICH » Onwards and Upwards » I still forget concepts even after answering numerous maths questions « Previous Next »

Im Noah
Poster

Post Number: 12
Posted on Tuesday, 20 May, 2014 - 09:27 pm:   

Note: this is for A-Level Maths/Further Maths.

I do the following below;

1) read the theory for whichever topic I'm studying given at the start of the textbook

2) proceed to read the solved examples which the textbook provides (usually 3-5 with full solutions)

3) I then proceed onto answering every question within each exercise.

My problem is that I still forget concepts, for instance, let's say a week later (or even a few days later sometimes).

What am I doing wrong? Others keep telling me to 'understand' but can someone expand on this? I do try to understand each concept but it's inevitable that I'll somehow still forget. What does it mean to specifically 'understand' a given concept/problem? If you have any other advice then please post!
JoelFishel
Prolific poster

Post Number: 268
Posted on Wednesday, 21 May, 2014 - 12:30 am:   

I find that understanding a concept is often more than just reading the theory. Reading the theory thoroughly is certainly a good start, but often doing A-level practice problems is not sufficient for gaining a full understanding of the concept. The usual format of an A-level text book will be to give you an example that you then copy with different numbers (more or less) again and again.

Real understanding comes from tackling more difficult problems which requires you to use a concept in more imaginative ways. A problem that you struggle at for hours/days/even weeks, is going to be far more likely to stick in your mind for the long run.