2D shapes and a love heart Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Ask NRICH » Please Explain » 2D shapes and a love heart « Previous Next »

Mrs Humphries
New poster

Post Number: 1
Posted on Tuesday, 25 February, 2014 - 08:17 pm:   

Firstly, I am a primary school teacher but my class have started a debate which has led to some incredible discussions. I will outline the points which they were making here and would love to hear from an expect. Ideally, we'd like to Skype an expert so the children can explain their thinking and receive feedback live rather than just a written response.

During a 'start of topic' shape lesson on Monday I set my year 5/6 (9-11 year olds) high ability (levels 5/6) maths class the challenge of naming 20 2D shapes. After they had completed the obvious, and a few that they wracked their brains to remember the proper names for, they began using their imaginations. Here we got things like 'star' or 'arrow head' which lead us to describe shape families and regular/irregular shapes. We concluded a 5 point star would be a decagon, as it has 10 sides, and an arrowhead would be an inverted kite and part of the quadrilaterals family. Then one of the class suggested a heart shape...

First we started with, what properties would a heart have? 2 sides? Ok, what other shapes have 2 sides? Then, the suggestion of a semi-circle - good thinking so far! Next, the question 'Is a heart an irregular semi-circle?' And from here we have had a long and detailed debate, clarifying our understanding of shape vocabulary and challenging what we knew.

If you are interested you can look at our Padlet wall here showing some of our thinking: http://padlet.com/wall/kh2n9kcfyc We know that not all of our information is accurate but it's all learning!

Our main points were:
Is a heart a 2D shape? Or just one line that meets?
If a heart is a 2D shape, what properties does it have to have?
Is a heart like a semi circle as they both have 2 sides?